Latest News
Source Name: NASSCOM

BVR Mohan Reddy Elected as Chairman of NASSCOM for 2015-16

CP Gurnani elected as Vice-Chairman for 2015-16

Apr 08, 2015   17:54 IST 
New Delhi, Delhi, India

National Association of Software and Services Companies (NASSCOM) today announced that the Executive Council has elected Mr. BVR Mohan Reddy, Founder and Executive Chairman, Cyient Ltd. (formerly Infotech Enterprises) as the Chairman of NASSCOM for 2015-16. Mr. BVR Mohan Reddy has been a member of NASSCOM’s Executive Council and will take on the new role from April 09th, 2015. He succeeds Mr. R Chandrasekaran, Executive Vice Chairman of Cognizant India, who served as Chairman of NASSCOM for the year 2014-15. The Executive Council also announced the election of Mr. CP Gurnani, CEO and MD of Tech Mahindra as the Vice Chairman of NASSCOM for 2015-16.


Speaking on the occasion, Mr. BVR Mohan Reddy, Chairman, NASSCOM, and Founder & Executive Chairman, Cyient Ltd. said, “It is truly a great honor to be the Chairman of NASSCOM. We are in the middle of exciting times with the IT industry gaining maturity, several technology disruptions, and the Government’s intent to deploy more IT for betterment of society and economy. We have many opportunities and challenges ahead of us. The work done by NASSCOM membership in innovation and transformation can be well used to build a digitally empowered nation. I look forward to continued involvement from our membership to accelerate momentum on all initiatives at NASSCOM.”


I am grateful that this responsibility comes on the thrones of a significant Digital storm that is reshaping the global marketplace, necessitating IT investments in every function to remain competitive and relevant. The political stability in India combined with game-changing initiatives such as Digital India, Smart Cities, Make in India are opening up unprecedented opportunities for the industry to contribute and benefit from the growth momentum. The spurt in product start-ups and the investment climate are reflective of this renewed confidence. I look forward to working with the NASSCOM Executive Council on catalysing Innovation and Transformation,” said Mr. CP Gurnani, Vice-Chairman, NASSCOM.


Mr. R. Chandrasekaran, Former Chairman, NASSCOM said, “I have been fortunate to have had the opportunity to work with NASSCOM and contribute in aligning the industry focus with the government’s vision during the last year. It has been heartening to note that the IT-BPM sector has played an important role in achieving the envisioned scale of the Skill India, Digital India and Make in India programmes. It has been a great opportunity to lead the industry as Chairman of NASSCOM. I am really hopeful for the industry with NASSCOM playing a critical role in evangelizing and leveraging newer opportunities for the sector.”


Chairman Mr. BVR Mohan Reddy along with Vice-Chairman Mr. CP Gurnani and President, Mr. R Chandrashekhar will lead NASSCOM to carry out its diverse array of priorities to enable NASSCOM in achieving the 2020 vision for the industry:

- Catalyse Innovation, Transformation, Digital Hub

- Expand global trade initiative

- Engage and support programs for SMEs, Start-ups

- Enhance engagement with Government

- Enable Inclusion and CSR


About BVR Mohan Reddy:

B.V.R. Mohan Reddy is the Founder and Executive Chairman, Cyient Limited and Chairman, NASSCOM. Having established Cyient (formerly Infotech Enterprises) in 1991, Mohan pioneered computer-aided design/computer-aided manufacturing (CAD/CAM) solutions serving international clients. Today, with 12,500+ employees across 38 locations worldwide, Cyient is one of the largest independent exporters of high-value R&D services from India. Mohan was elected as Chairman, NASSCOM in April 2015. Mohan has been a member of the NASSCOM Executive Council since 2003. In his previous role as Vice Chairman, NASSCOM, he was credited with establishing the Member Connect program and laying the foundation of NASSCOM’s engineering services council (ER&D Forum) through a range of initiatives, including instituting industry research on ER&D services. Mohan has also served as the Chairman of the Confederation of Indian Industry (CII), Southern Region (2008-2009), and was also a national council member. Associated with a number of academic and industry forums, he is also Chairman of the Board of Directors of IIT, Hyderabad.


About CP Gurnani:

CP Gurnani is the Chief Executive Officer and Managing Director of Tech Mahindra. CP also played a pivotal role in the three-year transformational journey of Mahindra Satyam and spearheaded the company’s eventual merger with Tech Mahindra. An accomplished business leader with extensive experience in international business development, start-ups and turnarounds, joint ventures, mergers and acquisitions, CP in many ways led Tech Mahindra's transformation journey, where he contributed significantly to the company's strategy and philosophy. In a career spanning 32 years, he has held several leading positions with HCL Hewlett Packard Limited, Perot Systems (India) Limited and HCL Corporation Ltd. An outstanding people's manager, CP has an entrepreneurial style of management that is a blend of enthusiasm and dynamism. A chemical engineering graduate from the National Institute of Technology, Rourkela, he is a distinguished and active alumnus of the Institute.



NASSCOM® is the premier trade body and the chamber of commerce of the IT-BPM industry in India. NASSCOM is a global trade body with more than 1800 members, which include both Indian and multinational companies that have a presence in India. NASSCOM's member and associate member companies are broadly in the business of software services, software products, consulting services, BPM, e-commerce and web services, engineering services and animation and gaming. NASSCOM’s membership base constitutes over 95% of the industry revenues in India and employs about 3.5 million professionals.

Media Contact Details
Kavita Doshi
91 11 23010199
Rudra Bose
Genesis Burson-Marsteller
+91 9811626585
Nitin Shukla
Genesis Burson-Marsteller
+91 9873985197
Aprajita Saxena
Genesis Burson-Marsteller
+91 7838348339
For press background on NASSCOM

click here
Check our partners with a comprehensive guide on Fake Rolex: Best Websites To Buy Replica Rolex Watches.